2020 Prizes for Refugee Projects Open for Entries

Entries are invited for the 2020 Ockenden International Prizes for successful self-reliance refugee projects.

Ockenden International, the renowned charity for refugees, has launched its eighth annual quest to find and reward the most effective self-reliance projects for refugees and/or internally displaced people.

The GBP100,000 prize will be shared equally by four winners who will each receive GBP25,000 to extend their endeavours.

The cash prizes recognize and reward innovative work that promotes self-reliance among refugees and/or internally displaced people (IDPs) anywhere in the world – a distinguishing feature of Ockenden International since its inception in 1951.

Submissions for the £25,000 prizes are sought from non-profit organisations, which can also elect to nominate a project by a non-profit partner or affiliated organisation. There are no geographical limits on the locations of submitted projects, which ideally can also be led by – or have a high level of participation from – displaced people themselves.

Prizes will be awarded to projects that promote self-reliance among refugees and/or displaced people. ‘Self-reliance’ is understood broadly to include self-sufficiency, self-support, self-sustenance, self-standing and independence and may involve projects for education, legal assistance, livelihoods or any other programme that helps displaced people build stable, independent lives.

The entries will be judged by a panel of experts who will be looking for highly effective projects that have led to real change in people’s lives, with measurable evidence of outcomes, as detailed in the Judging Criteria.

Deadline for entries is midnight (GMT) on November 30, 2019, with the four winners to be announced by March 31, 2020.

The Ockenden International Prizes remain focused on identifying solutions to the challenges faced by displaced people, raising awareness of their needs, and rewarding outstanding projects.

The four winning projects of 2019 came from Uganda, Malaysia, Lebanon and the self declared Republic of Somaliland.